Regatta 2009, Samui – Final 2008-09 AY Grand Prix Championship Event


Grand final fever hits Samui
31 May 09: A large contingent of Hong Kong yachts arrived early in Samui to complete preparations and plan how to overcome the Aussie’s, Singaporean and a strong fleet of Thai based boats from Pattaya and Phuket that have descended here in droves. Being the last regatta on the 2008-09 Season, usually makes it the most memorable event held throughout the year. Neil Pryde and his Welbourne 52 Hi Fi, may have already rapped up the AYGP Skipper and Yacht of the Year awards but the other eight racing class yachts will be out in full force to take a little shine of the trophy. Defending champion Ray Roberts and his DK46 Quantum Racing are very familiar with the waters and weather conditions around Samui and is ready to repeat the performance of past years. For Bill Bremner and Andy Cocks TP52 Foxy Lady IV, Samui is their favourite event and along with Frank Pong’s R/P 75 Jelik who have won here before, are determined to have a good time doing it again. Sam Chan’s TP52 Ffreefire 52 and the Fred Kinmonth/Nick Burns owned Mills 51 Fortis Mandrake are more than ever, ready to take the Trophy home, along with the bragging rights back to Hong Kong for the next year.

Leave a Reply